WIAW: Spring has Sprung

Well, hello there summer spring so nice to see you again! What is this you say? You’d like to drag me away from this pile of work and force me to enjoy a cocktail outside? Well, if you say so.

… and that is pretty much how yesterday went.  So in the spirit of What I Ate Wednesday (founded by Jenn at Peas & Crayons), I present the following photographic documentation of yesterday’s eats.

Breakfast

Since we had an early afternoon appointment with the accountant to prepare our dreaded taxes, Kurt and I both worked from home.  I had a research memo to finish before the meeting so I hurriedly made and ate a brown rice quesadilla with jalapeno almond cheese, hummus and spinach.

Lunch

I was running late for our meeting around lunch time, so I scarfed down a Quest Bar and goat’s milk kefir. Quest Bars are my new favorite protein bar and I promise a full review. When we returned from the meeting, I snacked on dry roasted chickpeas while I resumed working.

Dinner

In light of the amazing weather we had yesterday, Kurt and I treated ourselves to an outdoor sushi date night. We started off with sushi pizza (spicy tuna, mango, avocado, crunchy scallion tobiko, and eel sauce) and edamame, and then split naruto and a red dragon roll (spicy tuna topped with tuna) and washed it all down with SkinnyGirl Margarita. Of everything we ordered, the sushi pizza stood out. The sweetness of the mango with the spicy tuna and heaviness of the fried crust with the lightness of the raw fish made for very tasty balanced bites.

So tell me: What’s on your plate?

One thought on “WIAW: Spring has Sprung

  1. Yum! What a lovely picnic–you’ve got me craving sushi like a crazy lady!
    I took my zucchini and bean tacos out to the picnic table this evening to enjoy them in the sunshine!

Leave a Reply

