With Love, Your Foodie Pen Pal

My discovery of healthy living blogs was fueled by an obsession with stirring peanut butter into my oatmeal.  One morning I woke up and said, “Self, since you like peanut butter so much why don’t you put some in your morning oatmeal,” and I happily obliged.  I became obsessed with the end result: thick creamy peanut buttery oatmeal.  I believed myself to be a breakfast genius and told anyone who would half-listen about my creation but I came to find that most people were not as intrigued or impressed as they should have been.  Then one day, by the forces that may be, I was compelled to google “oatmeal with peanut butter” and landed upon Elise’s blog Hungry Hungry Hippie. Would you know, Elise put peanut butter in her oatmeal, too, and loved it so much that she shared it with the whole world wide web!!! How fan-freaking-tastic!!!! I was not alone in my obsession, and a blog reader was born.

I began FreshMutz as a way to further connect with other (more often than not healthy) food obsessesed individuals, so naturally I jumped at the chance to partake in the Lean Green Bean’s Foodie Pen Pal program.

Miss Kath at The Nut Kase was assigned to send me a package of yumminess. Let me tell you, I was super excited to receive something in my mailbox last week other than bills.  Before I reveal the goods, I’ll share a little bit about Kath because she rocks and her blog is fabulous. Kath is a senior at UNC Chapel Hill and is from Charlotte, NC. These facts alone already endeared me to her because my cousin was a Tar Heel and, having often visited family in Charlotte, I love the place. Point 1 for Kath! Further, I was very impressed that she committed herself to healthy living in college. Needless to say my college eats were not of the wholesome variety. Once for three weeks my senior year, I barely strayed from buffalo wings and cheese fries.  Sure I made it to the gym four or five times a week, but in hindsight my diet was gross/awesome/still sort of gross. Point 2 for Kath! Kath loves creative writing and wants to write children’s books. Ummm, can we say kindred spirits? I, too, would like to write a children’s book and have a top secret story in mind. Point 3, 4, 5 . . . . 1,000,000 for Kath! So please check out her blog.

Now onto the serious noms.

Yerba Mate. Kath hit the nail on the head with this one. Contrary to last week’s Starbuckets regression, I prefer tea over coffee. Since I was subjected to back to back all nighters last week, this could  not have come at a better time.

More tea! A girl after my own heart! This Organic Ginger Pear Tea from Trader Joe’s served as a lovely, refreshing digestif.

She must read my mind, because Think Thin bars are my second favorite protein bars and second only because I try to avoid soy protein thanks to a wonky thyroid. I think they are the best tasting bars and they are gluten free. Brownie crunch is super and so is White Chocolate and Peanut Butter if you’d like to give them a whirl, and you should. She also sent over a Cranberry Almond Kind Bar. I love Kind Bars but saving this one for a rainy day. I will likely crumble it into a mug of kefir.

Trader Joe’s Marcona Almonds with Rosemary. I’ve never had Marcona Almonds before and learned that they are fried in olive oil.  These were so delicious, but I have a weird OCD disdain for greasy fingers (this developed post-buffalo wing craze). Eating these puppies went a bit like this: Eat a biteful, wipe my hands, eat another biteful, and wipe my hands. Eventually, I just used a spoon. While I had these plain, I can see them being great in a salad or pilaf.

Just like Vanessa Williams, I “Saved the Best For Last.” Chili Spiced Dried Mango. Oh. My. Goodness. I was more than estactic to receive this package. What Kath didn’t know is that I love to sprinkle cayenne pepper on mango. While studying for the bar exam back in the summer of 2009, I read that mango helps improve memory so naturally I ate one everyday doused in cayenne. Like peanut butter oatmeal, I loved this combination to the point of obsession. Accordingly, I absolutely adored this package of deliciousness. I loved it so much, I was a little sad when I had the last bite which was not too long after I had the first. 

So there you have it. Thank you so much Kath for an amazing package and best of luck finishing up school!!!

If you’d like to read about what I sent to my pairing Mrs. Kiri, check out her beautiful, informative food and travel infused blog Healthy Foodie Travels .

If you are interested in participating in the Food Pen Pals program (no blog necessary) read all about it here.

11 thoughts on “With Love, Your Foodie Pen Pal

  1. Kiri W. says:

    Wow, those chili mangoes sound amazing! 🙂 Glad you got as wonderful a package as you sent me! Thank you again, as you can see, I loved every bit!

  2. whoa! that dried mango sounds fantastic!

  3. kacline says:

    I’m so glad you liked the mangoes! I absolutely LOVE them and all my friends think I am crazy for eating spicy fruit. I am so happy you liked your box and I really enjoy reading your blog. Have a good weekend! 😀

    • FreshMutz says:

      Well, I think your friends are crazy for not eating spicy fruit! LOL! They are missing out. The mangos and everything else was amazing. Thank you so much for being a wonderful foodie pen pal!

  4. Richgail Enriquez says:

    Yum, chile spiced mangoes! That looks like a great snack.

  5. dianabushneck says:

    Those Marcona almonds are one of my favorites. I once knew an Argentinian and we used to drink a LOT of mate tea out of special mate cups!

    P.S. I loved what you sent to your pen-pal too! Sahale Nuts are the best!!!

    • dianabushneck says:

      oops – I got criss-crossed, as to who the packages were from! Your Turkish themed box is so fun – and that Turkish delight looks so amazing.

      • FreshMutz says:

        I was so intrigued by the mention of mate tea cups, I googled it. They’re very serious! I have turkish tea cups and I feel so special drinking out of them. I love tea and tea cups!

Leave a Reply

