Easter Feast-er

“Marriage is to family what legs are to a table.” -Betty Jane WylieFamily: An Exploration

Buona Pasqua blog friends! Happiest Easter and/or Passover for all those celebrating. I’d be lying if I said today wasn’t bittersweet. Things for the past few months have not been quiet on the home front, but if I’ve learned anything, I’ve learned that family is where the heart is and today my heart was warmed by the kindness and love of my new husband and in-loves, Baba and Mom. Truth is, love is all you need and it was in abundance today… and so was the food. Mom made a feast fit for kings.

We started off with nuts, olives, chips, crackers, hummus, a dip made with ajvar which is a relish consisting of red peppers, eggplant, garlic and chili peppers, and baba ganoush.  Admittedly, I arrived famished and over-did it on the appetizers. I had little appetite left for the main event.

Lamb, salad, artichoke hearts, asparagus, rice, beans, and borek… oh my. While I may not have been hungry, I am no stranger to eating for pure enjoyment and I enjoyed every single morsel. I especially enjoyed the lamb, which was made in Baba’s new favorite gadget: The NuWave Oven.

Kurt and I scoffed at the notion that our lamb would be prepared by this as-seen-on-tv contraption. Yet, we swallowed our snickers upon the first delicious, tender bite. It was perfect. Baba knows best.

peep show

For me, Easter isn’t an Easter without Peeps. I can’t even say that these little chickies are tasty. In fact, I think they are sickeningly sweet. Yet, this is a fact I’ll overlook as they are too cute and too fluffy. I love them. I love them more when they’re stale and I always eat the heads first.

Dessert was peanut butter pecan ice cream, chocolate pudding, cookies and a rouge peep. It was the perfect ending to a perfect meal. As it is often the case on holidays, dessert was followed by a serious food coma.  Had I not had so much tea there would have been a nap, too… like this sleeping beauty.

Question

What’s your favorite easter candy? Aside from peeps, I love jelly beans. 

6 thoughts on “Easter Feast-er

  1. Kiri W. says:

    Looks like you had a wonderful time 🙂 I love that sleeping beauty picture, haha!

  2. Looks like an awesome meal! One of my coworkers had that oven and RAVED about it. Every single day! Ha! I’m impressed that it can cook something like lamb!
    As for my favorite easter candy, I definitely have to go with the peanut butter filled eggs.

    • FreshMutz says:

      mmmm peanut butter! Kurt’s parents love the NuWave. They even used it to make the borek (savory phyllo pastry with onion and beef). They rave about it every time we are there but everything that has come from it, lamb included, is delicious.

  3. Kath says:

    Oh my gosh…peeps! You’re a foodie after my own heart 🙂

Leave a Reply

