What I Wish I Ate Wednesday

While most Wednesdays I participate in What I Ate Wednesdays (WIAW), where blogger’s gather at Jenn’s Peas & Crayons and post photographs of the previous days’ meals, I’ve opted to share what I wish I ate instead.*

A few weekends ago, Kurt and I visited Long Island for two nights to outlet shop and tour wineries. En route to the hotel, a stop at Angelo’s in Carle Place for a slice was non-negotiatiable. A while back, Kurt discovered the joint in an unassuming strip mall during a workday break and it blew the pizza aficionado’s mind. He made me a believer last summer when he brought home a par-cooked margherita pie that we finished cooking in the oven. Up until our recent sojourn, I had yet to experience a straight-from-the-brick-oven slice. Everyone knows pizza loses a certain je ne sais quoi upon hitting the box.

What ensues upon the first bite of Angelo’s margherita can only be described as a religious experience. The crust is thin, the crushed tomatoes are robust, and most importantly, the mozzerella is house-made, fresh, and encapsulates the creaminess and ever-so-slight brininess that’s characteristic of a high quality mutz.

If you’d like to get in on the action, you can find Angelo’s at

215 Glen Cove Rd Ste D
Carle Place, NY 11514

*In case you are wondering: yesterday, I had a two-egg omlette with Lisanatti’s almond cheddar cheese (the cheddar is far inferior to the pepper jack… sigh), an apple with a blob of almond butter for lunch,  an obscene amount of walnuts throughout the day, and for dinner, I had grilled chicken thighs dipped in cacik (turkish chilled yogurt, cucumber, and dill soup — recipe can be found here).

Leave a Reply

