Daily Archives: March 1, 2012

LADY AND THE TRAMP

In Sunday’s post I mentioned that Kurt and I bought a few work out goodies on Saturday afternoon, but kept the fruits of our spree a secret . . . until now.

Say hello to my little friend:

Image

Tramps need lovin’ too, and yes, it was love at first sight. When I saw Stella (that’s her name) at Sports Authority, Mr. Gaye crooned and angels cried a little (from happiness, of course).  I imagined the two of us sharing a steak dinner (or maybe surf and turf), then a romantic movie, followed by some fro yo. Wild!  Since I moved to the new place and up until last week, my work out routine involved work out DVDs. However, I like to move to the beat of my own drum and figured that I could hop on the trampoline for twenty or thirty minutes for a quickie cardio work out.

When I got home, I had to learn everything about the benefits of trampoline jumping to justify my desire to bounce around like a five year old. First, I learned that the proper term for the mini-tramp hoppity hop is “rebounding,” then I was absolutely elated to discover the plethora of benefits associated with rebounding:

Trampolining is one of the most efficient and effective type of exercise for the entire body that is widely unknown. It has all of the benefits of cardiovascular exercise and strength training (improved circulation, increased strength, develops balance and coordination, etc.) with many added benefits due to its effect on every cell of the body: 
 

  • It increases the lymphatic system’s circulation (the body’s waste removal system), ultimately improving the efficiency of the immune system.
  • It increases bone density because it actually strengthens the skeleton. which makes it a great exercise for preventing osteoporosis.
  • Because of the increase in lymphatic system circulation, it also works to tone and tighten the skin – like giving yourself a facial.

How it works

There are three natural forces: gravity, acceleration, and deceleration. The purpose of rebounding is to line up acceleration and deceleration with gravity. The G Force factor is what gives you all the benefits of rebounding. Your body weight is equal to 1 G Force.  

When you start bouncing up and down, your body is subjected to the forces of acceleration and deceleration plus gravity. This combination of forces creates an increase in G Force – each and every cell feels this increase which is the equivalent of doubling your weight. In response to being placed in this environment, the cells adjust by getting stronger, individually. Each and every cell gets stronger – not just muscle cells (like when you pump up in the gym).  

Rebounding also cleanses cells because the lymphatic system is activated by this type of activity; the cells are constantly being flushed of metabolic waste and saturated with oxygen, nutrients, enzymes etc. The rate of diffusion of water through cell membranes is increased because rebounding activates one way valves in the veins of the lymphatic system. When pressure is below the valves, the valves open (during acceleration, or as you are rising upward on the bounce). When pressure is above the valves, they stay closed (deceleration). 

Source

In addition to these benefits, bouncing around is a ton of fun and doesn’t get in the way of me and my beloved Reality TV. When I’m finished, I feel perfectly out of breath and fatigued. Sadly though I will be replacing Stella with an even bouncier, higher quality apparatus… serves her right for being a cheap tramp!

Now for some awesome pictures:

Fresh Mutz in 50 Years

Lady and the Tramp

Tagged , ,